Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

FREEDOM to Run – Even for the Wise

While I don’t remember much from the Latin I learned in school (I did not learn much to begin with :(), one proverb is still stuck in my memory: “Festina lente.”  That simply means, “Hurry slowly” (Grabeste-te incet – in Romanian).

Indeed – my image of a wise man is always that of one who takes his time, he ponders and thinks hard before speaking and/or acting.  It is after all, what we find many times in the Proverbs of Solomon.  See for example Proverbs 14:29: “Whoever is slow to anger has great understanding, but he who has a hasty temper exalts folly.”  It is the ‘slow’ guy who is the hero, not the hasty one (admittedly the context is a bit different).

That is why I was quite surprised in my morning reading of Proverbs (one proverb a day keeps the shrink away – I just made that one up! J) to find a proverb where the wise man was allowed to run:

When you walk, your step will not be hampered,

and if you run, you will not stumble.

(Pro 4:12 ESV)

A bit of context is important here.  The father/teacher is saying that if you go on the paths of righteousness (4:11), where there is light (4:18) and the path is level – you can run and you won’t stumble.  It is possible, therefore, for the wise to run, as long as he/she is on the right path.

Not so with the wicked/fool.  But why?  Because he/she will stumble.  Why?  It is really dark out there…: “The way of the wicked is like deep darkness; they do not know over what they stumble.” (Pro 4:19 ESV)  It seems to be not only very dark, but full with all kinds of unexpected obstacles.

Therefore, watch out wicked and foolish people.  It is really dark out there, even if you slow down, you will probably stumble.

Meanwhile – I am happy to know that I can be wise even if I am running…as long as I make sure I am on the paths of righteousness.  It is fairly level there, and plenty of light.

I got to run now.  The whether is quite nice outside!  :)

 

Leave a Reply

