Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

Progress after 5 Weeks – ACL, Meniscus, and PLRI Surgery

Today there are 5 weeks after my operation. My ACL was reconstructed, my meniscus was repaired, and another ligament was reconstructed (PLRI?). They found out that this other ligament was (partially?) torn when they introduced the arthroscope (with a small camera) before the operation. For my ACL they used some of my hamstring for the replacement, while for the PLRI (?) they used an allograft (ligament from a dead guy L). That means I am now partially Korean! J

The first week was in a way the hardest, but it wasn’t terrible because I was sedated fairly well! J

I would say that the hardest thing during this whole process was the lack of sleep during the night. While this was no doubt due to the fact that I was sleeping during the day a few hours (what else can you do when you are in bed all day?), even when I skipped the daily naps (after 3-4 weeks) I had a hard time sleeping through the night. It was not because of pain. I was never in major pain, but it was uncomfortable to sleep with the knee brace and I just could not sleep well.

There were nights when I slept less than 3 hours (though I would sleep a few hours in the morning) and I am still having a hard time getting a decent night sleep, despite the fact that I sometimes take sleep medicine (doesn’t seem to have much effect). It is not prescription medicine.

At the five week point, my knee is still a bit swollen (and also my ankle), but I can bend my knee to about 120 degrees.

Next week I am supposed to get rid of the crutches. Praise the Lord.

I feel that I could walk without them now (?), but I will take it easy and follow the doctor’s advice.

For the past two weeks I have been preaching sitting on a chair for the first service (http://www.hcc.or.kr/worship1_2.asp; I am the nameless guy :)), and standing (on one leg) for the second (this is not recorded)!  So far so good!  I did not think the first time that I can stand in one leg for the whole sermon! Miracles are possible!🙂

Over all – the recovery process is long and painful (the strengthening exercises are a bit painful for a person with terrible flexibility like me)! I hope and pray, however, that things will get better soon.

I can’t wait to walk without crutches and I hope and pray with many that the meniscus is healing well and the reconstructions are successful.

The surgery (with the roughly $1600 for the allograft) cost me about $5000. This is after the help/support from the national insurance. I just found out that my private insurance just paid about $3000, and they may pay a bit more after I give them the receipt from the allograft (that was only partially paid). In any case – so far I am happy that I may end up with less than $2000 from my own pocket. Praise the Lord!

Please pray for me so I can play in Brazil 2014!!! J

Well – really – play that I can be back to normal by 2012!

Thank you and many blessings to all!

Cristian R

9 responses

  1. P.S. I have been driving (an automatic car) for about a week, but I feel I could have started driving a week earlier (after 3 weeks). So far I haven’t hit anybody…and I feel like I am getting better/stronger!

    February 16, 2011 at 7:53 am

  2. Daniel Buda

    Sounds good! Keep going!

    February 16, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    • Thanks cousin…I try. Many blessings!

      February 17, 2011 at 3:29 am

      • cdragoi

        Dude, sorry to hear about the surgery, didn’t check out your site for a while. Hope your recovery is going well.

        Blessings from Cameroon🙂

        March 22, 2011 at 7:34 pm

  3. Don’t stress man. I am much better (I am walking without crutches and without a brace). PTL! How is Cameroon? I heard you are in Africa. I have a student here from Cameroon!

    March 23, 2011 at 4:37 am

    • cdragoi

      It’s great thus far. A little busy with computer support this week, but still enjoying the experience. Wish I’d have learned some French though.

      March 23, 2011 at 7:00 am

  4. Nice. Come and visit! French? Didn’t you learn that in Romania?

    March 23, 2011 at 8:59 am

  5. cdragoi

    Thanks, I’d love to but I’ll have to see.

    I should have but I was kind of slacking back then.

    March 23, 2011 at 5:00 pm

  6. Ok. I will email you! Chris

    March 24, 2011 at 3:38 am

Leave a Reply

