Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

Life in Korea – Hospital Days (Part I)

Here I am at United Hospital (any relationship with Manchester United is probably intentional) overlooking the Yang-jae intersection (about 15 minutes walk from my school and Onurri Church).  I can see exits 6 and 7 of the Yang-jae subway station and KFC from my window on the 7th floor! Wave if you happen to be there!🙂

I haven’t been in a hospital for about 30 years (I was in the hospital in Romania for hepatitis in 1982 or so).  For less than two days (right after the operation) I was in a two-person room, but I was moved yesterday in a six-person room.  I am told that my insurance covers this!?

It seems that the hospital experience is a family experience in Korea.  Under my bed there is another bed that can be pulled out and used.  One person in my room has his girlfriend (?) staying and sleeping there and one has his mother.

Beds in Korean Hospital

When I was in the two-persons room (I was mostly by myself because the other bed was empty) a new patient came.  His mother, father, grandparents and sisters (?) also showed up and they filled the refrigerator (I only had some water and juice) probably feeling sorry for me for having so few things in the refrigerator (?).

It seems that family members can come and leave any time they wish (at least here; this is an orthopedic hospital).

There is no doubt that this society understands well the importance of family in the healing/comforting/encouraging process.

How sad that the church misses many times the importance of community/family in the healing process.  It is never too late to learn and apply!

Isaiah didn’t want to visit me in the first day because he was very sad that his dad was in the hospital.  When he heard that I was feeling better, he couldn’t wait to come the second day.  He came the second day and did not really want to leave…but I needed the rest!🙂

I finally feel that the toes to my right leg are fine…that is an improvement!

 

Leave a Reply

