Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

Time to Quit FACEBOOK???

I just read a very convicting article by Jonathan Dodson for deleting my FACEBOOK account!

The one that I find the most compelling (and kind of scary!) is the following:

#2 Reason I Quit FB

I see through the facade of multitasking and am concerned about its effect on my mind. A number of years ago I read a helpful article in Time on the illusion of multitasking. The article argued that it is neurally impossible to multitask. The brain can only focus on one thing at one time. When we multitask, we are actually dividing mental energy in lots of little bits, which slowly downgrades attention span and focused reflection:

Decades of research (not to mention common sense) indicate that the quality of one’s output and depth of thought deteriorate as one attends to ever more tasks.

If you don’t think this is true, just compare your pre-social media and post-social media devotional life. I want to cultivate a mind that can focus well on reading, writing, meditating, and thinking well and for the glory of God.

WOW – some very good points…maybe I should delete mine too!!!???

Leave a Reply

