Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

How the World Began: Man, Destiny and Faith

So everywhere we are determined and defined by Him who breathed into us his breath and called us by our name.  And when all grows silent and empty about us, when we are restless and lost in a gloomy maze, when we cry out in the dark and none seems to answer, let us remember the saying of Pascal:

I would not seek thee, O God, if thou hadst not already found me.  Even my restlessness and my longing show me that thou art at work upon me.

Or we can pray: If in the madness of my passion and the wild commotion of my life I forget thee, do not thou forget me.

God is always greater than our faith, because the breath of His Spirit is stronger than the dust of the earth.  And with this certitude one can live.

Truly this is something you can live by.

If I know this, then I know the theme, the point of my life; then my life can succeed.

[From How the World Began – by Helmut Thielicke, pp. 85-86]

Leave a Reply

