Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

JULIUS KIM on CALVIN at DG Conference

Dr.  Julius Kim was a visiting professor here at Torch for about a year.

We really enjoyed his friendship and ministry here.

He was very earnest in teaching us the importance of Christ-centered preaching, and he modeled this in his sermons.

I just found out that he will be speaking at the DG Conference in the fall on John Calvin.

Here is the reason why John Piper invited him:

This is especially for those of you who thought that he was invited because he is good looking!🙂

Chris

9 responses

  1. ian

    of course not… he was invited bcoz, he’s such a good person and also such a good teacher…

    July 15, 2009 at 4:39 pm

  2. I know Ian. It was a joke! You are right!

    July 22, 2009 at 4:07 am

  3. Brendan M.

    But why was Doug Wilson invited? He is awful bigot who has written pro-slavery, anti-woman, anti-gay, and anti-miscegenation garbage, and he has even called for death for adulterers and children who curse their parents. If Julius Kim is indeed a good and honorable man, he’ll make his attendance at this conference conditional on Doug Wilson’s absence. He may not know about Mr. Wilson, so he deserves the benefit of the doubt. John Piper does not have that excuse and should be condemned for inviting a neo-Confederate hate-monger to this event and pressured to reverse his decision.

    Here is some more information on Doug Wilson: http://www.splcenter.org/blog/2009/07/22/mainstream-preacher-invites-slavery-defender-to-conference-honoring-calvin’s-birth/

    July 26, 2009 at 8:40 pm

  4. I do not know why Doug Wilson was invited, but I am sure John Piper could explain it!

    Actually – here is Piper’s explanation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gprGHoMzar0

    Frankly – I do not think that Wilson is a racist or pro-slavery and I cannot comment on the rest of your accusations.

    July 27, 2009 at 3:00 am

    • Brendan M.

      Wilson on slavery in the pre-Civil War South: “There has never been a multiracial society which has existed with such mutual intimacy and harmony in the history of the world.”

      If you do not think this is a disgusting and outrageous example of pro-slavery propaganda and racism, then I question whether you yourself are a bigot. If you are supportive of this conference and the individuals and the institution behind it, you are obligated to do the minimal amount of research in order to be able to comment on my “accusations” (they’re called facts). I provided a link to a very prominent civil rights/anti-racism group which has more links.

      July 28, 2009 at 11:44 pm

  5. Look – I cannot evaluate the phrase you gave me out of context. Is he is referring to societies BEFORE that time, or also to our times? If it only refers to societies BEFORE that time – I must say that I do not know (maybe he is right, or he may be wrong because he does not know the facts and not because he is a racist). That phrase does not say that he hates blacks or that he is pro-slavery, it simply makes a comment about that society and he compares it with other multiracial societies (again – I assume he means PREVIOUS multiracial societies).
    My expertize is mostly in the ancient Near East, with very little knowledge of the society that he is talking about (pre-Civil War South). Compared with the ancient Near East – I would guess that he is right, but it is just an educated guess, because most of what I know about pre-Civil War South comes from Uncle Tom’s Cabin (which I read a long time ago in Romanian).

    If his comment includes our society – obviously he’s got a problem and he must explain his comment.

    I am supportive of John Piper (in general) and of Jean Calvin. I do not know much about Wilson, and I know Julius Kim personally (that is why my post is about JULIUS and not about Wilson).

    However, I certainly see the points that you are making about Wilson (I read your link) and they are strong.

    I cannot, however, fully evaluate Wilson unless I read more of his stuff and also heard him defend his comments (if he would be willing to do that).

    Meanwhile – I think that it is best for you to bring your complaints to John Piper. I do not have access to him, but I would have brought up your points if I did!

    July 29, 2009 at 2:04 am

  6. Brendan M.

    Thank you for being honest and thoughtful. To give a little context, Wilson precedes that sentence with this one: “Slavery as it existed in the South … was a relationship based upon mutual affection and confidence.” So far, unfortunately, Mr. Piper has refused to answer questions about inviting a slavery apologist and neo-Confederate to this conference. That is why I think it would be useful for the other invited speakers to raise the subject with Piper, so next time you speak with Mr. Kim (whom I have no reason to suspect of sharing Wilson’s vile views), you might consider suggesting he considers raising this issue with Mr. Piper.

    July 29, 2009 at 4:09 am

  7. Julius Kim does not know Doug Wilson, but he said: “I’m sure John Piper chose Doug Wilson carefully and thoughtfully. ”

    I agree with Julius. But I can see why you may want Piper to explain this further. Maybe he will (?).

    Blessings,
    Chris

    July 30, 2009 at 4:12 am

  8. Brendan M.

    That would suggest that John Piper does not object to Doug Wilson’s vile and offense statements and writings, and that Julius Kim doesn’t have a problem with this. This is unfortunate.

    July 30, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Leave a Reply

