Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

I am AWAY in the Middle East

I am away from Korea for some time learning new things about the Middle East.

 

First of all – my access to the net is limited here so I will not be writing very much.  In a way this is good – if I can reduce my time on the net I may get more accomplished at work (writing), and I get to spend more time with my family.  Praise the Lord! [Ashkur Allah = Thank God]

 

I am learning some Arabic together with my wife and also about the Muslim culture.  The whole Muslim world is celebrating Ramadan.  This means that we cannot eat out (before 7 pm and then it is very very crowded) during most of the day.  They of course eat a lot more at night. The people seem to be enjoying this religious holiday, but I have not talked to many Muslims about this.

 

It is an interesting and educational experience talking to the taxi drivers.  I found out that one is a secret Christian who cannot change his name (to a Christian one) for fear of being killed.  Another one told me that Israel will not exist anymore by 2022 and had a very negative attitude toward USA (he spoke English fairly well).  And yet another one cheated me about $1 on his way to break the Ramadan fast.  It is an interesting and fascinating world out here, and we are both looking forward to learn more about this fascinating part of the world.  Thank you for your prayers.

 

May God bless the Middle East with much SHALOM/SALAAM!

 

Leave a Reply

