Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

David Noel Freedman 1922 – 2008

As I was checking the SBL site (looking for a review of Keel’s book on Song of Songs) I found out that David Noel Freedman died.  It is sad news, but I believe (and hope) that he died as a Christian (?).

David Noel Freedman was my professor while I studied Computer Science at UCSD.  Few know that my first major (my B.S.) was Computer Science. 

However, while at UCSD, I decided to take Jewish Studies as one of my areas of concentration (you are required to have 2, unrelated to your major; mine were Jewish Studies and Communication).  I was thinking…I know that Bible fairly well (I was raised in a Romanian Baptist family), I like studying it, and I may be able to raise my GPA with the area of concentration 🙂  I did raise my GPA ( 🙂 ), and in the process I got to study with world-class scholars.  The most notable ones were D. N. Freedman (a giant in his field), and R. E. Friedman (one is freed and the other is fried :)).  Both of them are part of the reason that I am now an Old Testament aspiring scholar.  David Noel encouraged me through his passionate teaching and love for the Bible, while R. E. really annoyed me through his dogmatic presentation of the documentary hypothesis (this is the best way I can put it :)).

Well – this post is about D. N. Freedman.  May he rest in SHALOM.  More information about him can be found following the links below:

Obituary by William Propp  

Freedman’s 1976 SBL  presidential address
 
Tribute to David Noel Freedman in Biblical Archaeology Review
Los Angeles Times Obituary
2 responses

  1. Lisa Edmisten

    Hi Cris,

    I recently met a Christian substitute whose family is from Romania. He is passionate about serving the Lord and so I told him about you. That started me wondering where you were and what you were doing, so I searched the web and ran across this sight. I remember sitting next to you in one of those OT Classes and am sorry to hear of David’s passing. We were blessed to study under him and so many other widely recognized scholars at UCSD! So how are you? I’m teaching HS journalism and English in Roseville and finally, for the first time, travelling to Uganda on a missions trip this summer! : ) I’d love to hear from you and catch up.

    God Bless,
    Lisa Edmisten, UCSD and IVCF alumni

    May 4, 2008 at 11:53 pm

  2. Hello Lisa. Nice to hear from you again. I guess these blogs are good – you may run into some ‘old’ friends when you do not expect it.
    As you may have deduced from this bloh – I am teaching in Korea these days. We are having a blessed time.
    You are in Roseville? I have a very good Romanian dentist friend there…if that is a small city north of SF…He is a Christian ‘elder’ at a major church there…It is great to hear that you are going to Uganda this summer. Indeed – let’s keep in touch.

    Blessings and grace,
    Chris

    May 5, 2008 at 1:22 am

Leave a Reply

