Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

Islam and Democracy – The View of Ayaan Hirsi Ali

A question that is of considerable interest to people today has to do with the relationship between Islam and democracy. I personally (from my somewhat limited study) believe that they are incompatible.

In other words – Quranic Islam is not compatible with democracy. More specifically – it does not allow equality for women and religious freedom (especially to convert).

I recently heard a perspective from someone who was born as a Muslim. Her name is Ayaan Hirsi Ali, a writer who is already popular in the world and infamous in the Muslim world (she is an atheist now).

While this is a long interview – I think that it is worth watching if you are interested in this subject:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5420265376020874529

Of course- we both could be wrong. I really hope so!

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Islam and Democracy - The View of Ayaan Hirsi Ali

  2. Connie

    Does html work here?

    Ayaan Hirsi Ali

    April 9, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  3. ?? I am not sure.

    April 10, 2008 at 4:13 am

  4. Connie

    Yes, it does. I made your link clickable, as you can see in my first post.

    To do this in the future, put title

    (Put in ” where I typed out quotation marks. If I’d put them in the explanation, you would be seeing this as a link, instead of seeing my explanation). If you don’t understand, google html code, and you will find plenty of help).

    April 10, 2008 at 5:02 am

  5. Connie

    Nuts. I tried. My explanation still showed as a link. It’s difficult to explain what to do for that reason.

    Go here for an explanation.

    April 10, 2008 at 5:05 am

  6. Thanks a lot Connie. I will try. I never figured out how that worked. Though – I haven’t tried too hard🙂

    April 10, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

