Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

I Don’t Believe in Atheists

Here is an article worth reading…It is sure to annoy both Atheists and Christian fundamentalists…

http://www.salon.com/books/int/2008/03/13/chris_hedges/

I especially like this passage:

“I write in the book that not believing in God is not dangerous. Not believing in sin is very dangerous. I think both the Christian right and the New Atheists in essence don’t believe in their own sin, because they externalize evil. Evil is always something out there that can be eradicated. For the New Atheists, it’s the irrational religious hordes. I mean, Sam Harris, at the end of his first book, asks us to consider a nuclear first strike on the Arab world. Both Hitchens and Harris defend the use of torture. Of course, they’re great supporters of preemptive war, and I don’t think this is accidental that their political agendas coalesce completely with the Christian right. “

5 responses

  1. Kyla

    your statement is completely false and ridiculous. people think atheists are sinful people automatically. but truthfully, everyone has morals and a knowledge of what is right and wrong. being an atheist and friends of many more atheists, i know for a fact we aren’t as sinful as you like to think and tell the world we are. and even you, author, are a sinner. and believing in god ( your higher power) is stupid because he paints a superior image of himself. when really all he is is a narcissist.

    March 31, 2008 at 5:08 pm

  2. Kyla – that was not my statement. I was quoting Chris Hedges (see the link to his complete article above).

    He does not say that only atheists are sinful. He believes that everybody is sinful (including Christians) – and I believe the same. I believe that his point is that the people who do not believe that they are sinful (that they are somewhat perfect and/or above the law) – are the ones more likely to condemn others and be intolerant. Read his article if you have some time.

    I am not sure what you are trying to say about God. Why is he narcissist? If you would like to explain – I will try to reply to your comment.

    I appreciate your comments.

    Blessings,
    Chris

    April 1, 2008 at 7:29 am

  3. kimmie827

    I agree. I recently read a book called “Atheist” and it compaired certain attributes of Atheists and fundamentalists…I recommend it.
    I’ve found in my experience,that there are some things that are compairable with the two extremes, but many that are not.
    But I do think that most Atheists are misunderstood. I can say that atheists do not externalize evil. Actually, since they don’t believe in supernatural forces like the devil, they tend to take far more responsibilty for their own actions; more so than a theist who may believe in other forces in the universe leading them in certain directions. Even then, ever individual is different.
    I will have to take the time to read the full article though, as I’m only commenting on you blog post.

    December 20, 2008 at 10:17 pm

  4. I am sorry for the delay Kimmie. I see your points, but I am not sure that you are right: ‘atheists do not externalize evil’?

    Can you explain that? I think everybody externalizes evil in one way or another…Maybe I will say more after you explain that.

    Christians believe in the devil and demonic forces (traditional Christians), but I do not know any (though I am sure there are some) who do not take responsibility for their actions because they believe in a supernatural world…The two are NOT incompatible!

    Blessings,
    Cristian

    January 6, 2009 at 12:43 pm

  5. David Young

    ‘There are local groups of witches and Satanists praying that the Devil breaks up Christian marriages.’ Someone who took a session of a Christian Union when I was at school presented this as an ‘as everyone knows’ statement (clearly showing they have no idea of what witches believe).

    ‘It wasn’t my fault in the sense that I am not to blame for the action. What I am to blame for is forgetting to put my spiritual armour on on that occasion.’ This one can be found in the Charismatic movement.

    There seems to be some goalpost-moving going on here. An atheist who externalises evil is supposedly doing so because they are an atheist while a Christian who does the same thing does so in spite of, and not because of, their being a Christian. It is the same flaw that can be found in your sweeping generalisations about atheists elsewhere.

    September 26, 2012 at 11:54 am

Leave a Reply

