Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

MISSIONS in a POSTMODERN WORLD

To most of you (my readers) – it seems that I  have been gone for a while from the blogging scene.  This is only partially true.  I have been gone from my site, but I blogged on other sites.  I have spent some time on John Hobbins’ site on ancient Hebrew poetry (http://ancienthebrewpoetry.typepad.com).   It is a great site for those interested in Hebrew and related issues  (It turns out that John studied with some of my professors from U of T).  The website is on my blogroll under “Hebrew Poetry.”

 However, most of my blogging time has been spent…on Richard Dawkins’ website….YES, you read correctly, on Dawkins’ site.

I also read some on P Z Myers’ website.  I read mostly on the well known news (by now) that Myers got kicked out from a screening of EXPELLED, while Dawkins was allowed in.  Apparently the blog world went crazy around this story.  I won’t say much about this story – because I believe that way too much has been written already.  It does seem to me that Mathis was not truthful, but it is very likely (in my opinion) that this was a major publicity stunt (which again – in my opinion does NOT excuse Mathis for his deceptive methods – if the accusations are true) and all this publicity will help (for free) the movie EXPELLED to get more publicity for free.

I am writing this post – however – for another reason.  I just came from a lecture (at our school Torch Trinity) about missions in a postmodern world (given by two Menonite missionaries to Australia).  The lecture posed an important question: how should we do missions in a postmodern world?  How do you do missions when “religion” has become something that belongs only (or at least mostly) to the private domain, and many of us do not know our neighbors?? 

I was thinking about this, and this is a tentative answer: BLOG!

Blog? Do you mean “evangelize”? NO – I mean BLOG.  Go where the people are.  And they are definitely NOT in the church.  YES – you guessed it.  They are on the net blogging. 

Do missions on the blog.  I tried on Dawkins’ site.  Though – I suggest starting on a easier site :):)  Especially if you are a beginner.  All over the website – there are unsaved people who instead of being in the church they are blogging.  And they are starving for God.  You will find them on atheist and agnostic sites.  And you will find them even on Islamic sites.

Start and proceed with caution.  And pray for much wisdom.  It is NOT easy.  BUT the lost are right there – at your fingertips.  Make no mistake – many will revile and even curse you.  It will not be easy.  But proceed with humility, gentleness and faith. 

Apostle Peter has taught us well:

1 Peter 3:14 But even if you should suffer for righteousness’ sake, you will be blessed. Have no fear of them, nor be troubled, but in your hearts regard Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect, having a good conscience, so that, when you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame.

There is a world wide (www :)) and ripe harvest out there.  Help us Lord to proceed with wisdom and love.  And no matter what – help us to do it “with gentleness and respect…”

Pastor Chris

One response

  1. Daniel Berry

    Amen and amen.An atheist is no more lost than a Muslim and a theist no closer to God than the agnostic. There is no limit to whom God can work on to His glory. Reason to hope!

    March 27, 2008 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

