Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

HEBREW for Christians

Thanks to Google and friends – one can find out about new and exciting websites at any time. This one I found out from a friend who studies in a seminary in Romania.  It is a site that introduces Christians to Hebrew and related matters.  It is really really good. 

It is perhaps the best site I have seen for kindling a genuine love for the Hebrew language, and also for its resources.  I highly recommend it: www.hebrew4christians.com

So – if you would like to learn Hebrew (it has excellent graphics and all kinds of study aids), listen to pronounciation, read some fine meditations, benedictions, and even some Jewish humor – this is the site to go to.

As many of you know – I highly recommend learning the ORIGINAL languages of the Bible: Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek.  It is NEVER too late. 

I recently heard John Piper (who is now around 60, but his message was from a few years back I believe) say that he is still working on improving his Hebrew (his Greek seems to be very good already).

Personally (yes – I will be 40 this month) – even though I am not that old and I may not be an inspiration for some of you – I would like to work more on improving my Greek for reading both the New Testament and the Old Testament Septuagint.

One of the best articles I read for inspiration about the study of Biblical Languages is by John Piper.  It is called: Brothers, Bitzer was a Banker.  http://www.uu.edu/centers/biblical/documents/piper/bitzer.pdf

If Bitzer (who was a banker) spent the time and energy to learn the biblical languages (rather well) – how much more time and effort should be invested by people who minister in the church and beyond?  Bialak puts it rather well:

Reading the Bible in translation is like kissing your bride through a veil!!!

Think about that next time you read your English Bible.  And if you are awakened and long for the REAL kiss/experience, start with Hebrew4Christians.

SHALOM!  I have to go back to my Hebrew reading :)

P.S. You may also want to read this great article about biblical languages by Luther himself: http://faculty.bbc.edu/RDecker/luther.htm

3 responses

  1. Reiterating a comment placed elsewhere on this site: Language of Prayer is a Jewish prayerbook which teaches Hebrew pronunciation in a very easy, automatic way as one goes through the prayers; includes word-by-word transliteration and translation. See http://www.languageofprayer.com.

    June 10, 2008 at 2:09 am

  2. Bizalyah Unigwe

    Shalom Achi,
    I am delighted to have come acros this web site today.Please I am intrested in learning Hebrew language the toung of Heaven to enable me study the deeper things about Torah,but my problem is the fininacail strenght to do it can you asist me?
    Bizalyah

    March 20, 2009 at 11:07 am

  3. I am sorry for the delay, but I have been very busy lately and I haven’t had much time for this website.

    What do you mean by financial strength? I can try to help you if you clarify.

    Blessings,
    Cristian

    March 25, 2009 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,340 other followers