Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

EXPATS in KOREA (Christmas at HEM*)

christmas-korea.jpg

 Is it difficult to be an “expat” in Korea?  It depends.It certainly isn’t for me.  And it hasn’t been from the very beginning. 

Why is that? Is it because I am an “international freak” always on the move, and unsatisfied unless I experiment something new? I do not think so (though I may be rightly classified as an “international freak” – I lived in 4 different countries so far J). 

I think one of the answers is COMMUNITY. 

More specifically, it is CHRISTIAN COMMUNITY.   

As soon as I arrived in Korea I was surrounded by a loving Christian community.  It wasn’t only at the school where I teach, but also at the church that I started to attend with Dr. Steve Chang (New Testament Professor and Pastor of this ministry). 

There is much to be said about this community, but it is simpler to offer a clip from our last Christmas party.  If a picture is worth 1000 words, a video clip (even though it is very short) must be worth thousands of words.  Here you will see a “mixed multitude” singing a Christmas carol. 

Korean Americans educated in the United States (lawyers, dentist, teachers etc.) rub shoulders with Canadians (the blonde guy is British-Canadian J) and Americans married to Korean women.  Single Americans from the South, Manitoba, and the Midwest (most of them teachers) will sing carols with English speaking Koreans (engineers, counselors, workers etc.).  There is even a Romanian-American-Canadian (born in Romania and with dual citizenship) living and teaching in Korea J

Expecting mothers enjoy the company of recent young mothers.  Small children are playing together, and a Korean American mother is holding a Romanian-American-Korean baby (that is how the clip ends)… 

It is not all perfect and “heaven-like” (we are still on earth after all), but Christ is in our midst, and we sing for His glory. 

What better way to celebrate Christmas?  

No – it is not difficult to be an “expat.”  At least not where Christ has been proclaimed and a Christian community was formed.   

For where Christ is, there is love, joy, and forgiveness. And most important, the presence of the Holy Spirit is promised.  And the fruits of the Holy Spirit are love, joy, peace … (Galatians 5:22).  I pray that these fruits will be evident in our lives. 

P.S. Feel free to add your comments about the Christmas party, our community, and everything else you would like to add.

Blessings and JOY,

Pastor Cristian 

*HEM stands for Hallelujah English Ministry:  http://hem.hcc.or.kr/.

5 responses

  1. Daniel Buda

    It is really a blessing to see how uniting the love of God can be. In Him there is no race, nationality or gender. May He be praised in all nations!

    December 31, 2007 at 6:28 pm

  2. IcaR

    Indeed Dani, we had a great time! Since I came here I felt the LOVE of God through these people!

    January 5, 2008 at 5:01 am

    • I love Christmas day very much.

      November 14, 2012 at 4:02 pm

  3. Hi,
    I’m not sure if you still check these comments or not, but I’m curious if you can tell me where the Christmas tree on this blog was at. I’m here in South Korea right now, and my wife loves Christmas. I would love to be able to take her to a piece of home, while we are over here.

    Thanks!
    -Jonah McDonough
    jonahmcd@gmail.com

    November 24, 2008 at 11:55 am

  4. Jonah – it is close to the US embassy. You can find the address online. Many blessings and ENJOY.

    It is also close to the North Palace (the most famous palace in Seoul).
    Chris

    November 26, 2008 at 4:29 pm

Leave a Reply

