Who among you fears the Lord and obeys the voice of His Servant?

ETS, SBL, STOLEN IDENTITY

I had the chance to go to ETS and SBL in San Diego…with my wife and the baby it wasn’t the easiest thing.  Plus – I had to present two papers for which I was not very prepared.  My excuse is the baby…it is the best I could find…after all, when I submitted my proposals (for papers not yet written – I swore I will never do that again), Isaiah was not born yet.  How was I supposed to know that you cannot study and write as much when a baby is around??  I guess I should have listened to my friends who already had babies…In any case – the conferences were a great chance to meet some new people (Tremper Longman, Eugene Merrill, Matt Harmon etc.) and to see again old friends (especially the Romanian theological crowd).  I enjoyed ETS.  The difference in spirit/atmosphere between ETS and SBL is rather striking.  At ETS I heard many godly people talk about things relevant for the church (the theme was TEACHING THEM TO OBEY).  P. Jenkins pointed out that the Africans most likely understand the OT better that us, and the discussion of Christopher’s Wright book was a delight.  His book – The Mission of God –  should be a standard text for anyone who is interested in the biblical basis for MISSIONS…It was nice to see SD again (that is where I went for undergraduate), and it was even better to meet with relatives and cayak at La Jolla.  I used to surf there in my youth :):) The good old days…We had a great Thanksgiving in LA and I went back to my homechurch (in La Habra) where it was nice to see the youth (at least the few who showed up).  Back in Korea I ran into a surprise…SOMEONE got into my juno account and forwarded all my messages to his yahoo account…I did not receive any messages for about 4-5 days.  [Dear hassanbello01@yahoo.com – if you read this, please send me back all my messages…I am a poor guy (hey – I teach and preach) – so you have NOTHING to gain from my account.  Thanks and blessings to you.]  Perhaps more on ETS/SBL and my return to Korea later.

3 responses

  1. Rahela

    Well Well…. good excuse… the baby!?! or lack or discipline?! I think it might be the second?
    P.S. and why was ii not the easiest thing with your WIFE and BABY?!🙂

    December 3, 2007 at 2:52 am

  2. evedyahu

    I think I may have to filter your comments🙂

    December 3, 2007 at 3:08 am

  3. Rahela

    TRUTH HURTS?!:)

    December 3, 2007 at 5:50 am

Leave a Reply

